Union Stores Building
http://dbpedia.org/resource/Union_Stores_Building an entity of type: Thing
The former Union Stores Building is a heritage listed building located at 41-47 High Street on the corner with Henry Street in the Fremantle West End Heritage area. Construction of the building commenced in 1895 for prominent local merchant John Wesley Bateman to house his growing hardware business. The building has 120 feet (37 m) frontage along High Street and a depth of 104 feet (32 m) along Henry Street. It was opened to the public in September 1896 offering hardware, houseware and grocery lines.
rdf:langString
rdf:langString
Union Stores Building
rdf:langString
Union Stores Building
rdf:langString
Union Stores Building
xsd:float
-32.05524826049805
xsd:float
115.7443313598633
xsd:integer
52807926
xsd:integer
1041412421
xsd:integer
41
rdf:langString
Federation Free Classical
rdf:langString
Davis and Wilson
rdf:langString
Union Stores Building 2012
xsd:integer
1896
<poundSterling>
7000.0
xsd:gMonthDay
--11-09
rdf:langString
Fremantle
rdf:langString
September 1896
xsd:integer
1895
xsd:string
-32.05525 115.74433333333333
rdf:langString
The former Union Stores Building is a heritage listed building located at 41-47 High Street on the corner with Henry Street in the Fremantle West End Heritage area. Construction of the building commenced in 1895 for prominent local merchant John Wesley Bateman to house his growing hardware business. Bateman's business had occupied a building at the corner of Mouat Street and Croke Street for the previous 25 years before he decided to build larger premises at the present address. The new building designed by architects, Davis and Wilson, was built at a cost of £7,000 giving Bateman a more central location and more space. Built in the Federation Free Classical style the two storey building was constructed from brick and stone. The tuck pointed brick facade contains extensive decorative detailing indicative of the original four stores street frontage. On the rood parapet there are alternating segmented arched and triangular pediments separated by stucco corinthian pilasters and featured urns. The corner feature of the facade is an ornate shell pediment. The widely arched windows are spaced alternately with triangular topped casements separated with decorative stucco architraves. The windows hold stained glass in the upper portion of the frame with regular glass panes below. The front of the building has tiled dado of patterned rectangular green and brown glazed tiles. Much of the facade has Queen Anne style architectural elements The building has 120 feet (37 m) frontage along High Street and a depth of 104 feet (32 m) along Henry Street. It was opened to the public in September 1896 offering hardware, houseware and grocery lines. In 1898 a fire started in W. J. Beisley's tobacco shop, on the ground floor of the Union Stores building causing about £200 of damage. In 2014 the council had some exterior renovations completed on the building's facade and roof including removal of paint and concrete, restoring lime and mortar as well as street frontage maintenance.
xsd:nonNegativeInteger
6994
rdf:langString
41 - 47 High Street
xsd:string
1896
xsd:string
1895
<poundSterling>
7000.0
<Geometry>
POINT(115.74433135986 -32.055248260498)